Skip To Content

    Tax Rates

    Tax Rates

    When it comes to tax rates, where you live will determine what you pay. Mecklenburg County is composed of seven different jurisdictions: Charlotte, Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill, and Pineville. As you can see by the color-coded map below, each jurisdiction is highlighted with an individual color; but there are also areas in green around the perimeter of the county. These areas are considered ‘unincorporated’  and do not belong to any particular jurisdiction.

    Those who live in an unincorporated area only have to pay Mecklenburg county tax; however, those who live in a jurisdiction have to pay their particular rate, as well as Mecklenburg county tax.

    Here is a breakdown of current (2014-2015) tax rates for each jurisdiction:

    • Charlotte– 0.4687
    • Cornelius– 0.24
    • Davidson– 0.35
    • Huntersville– 0.305
    • Matthews– 0.3175
    • Mint Hill– 0.27
    • Pineville– 0.32